CfP: AIMS 2013 Conference

posted 12 Nov 2012, 05:03 by Martin Waldburger   [ updated 12 Nov 2012, 05:05 ]

The 7th International Conference on Autonomous Infrastructure, Management and Security (AIMS 2013)

June 25-28, 2013, UPC Barcelona, Spain

The AIMS conference is a single-track event integrating normal conference paper sessions, tutorials, keynotes, and a PhD student workshop into a highly interactive event. One of the goals of AIMS is to look beyond borders and to stimulate the exchange of ideas across researchers of different communities and among PhD students. Furthermore, AIMS 2013 integrates 1.5 days of courses and labs which offer hands-on learning experiences in network and service management topics and which require attendees to work in practical on-site courses combined with preceding short tutorial-like teaching sessions.

AIMS 2013 focuses on the theme of managing and monitoring of next-generation networks, network security and services. New paradigms as well as autonomic and fully distributed algorithms, virtualization and monitoring techniques or self-organizing overlays have to be investigated to design scalable and resilient frameworks able to deal with dynamic environments providing big data to process while also protecting privacy. The design, monitoring, configuration and protection of the next generation of networked systems in an efficient, secure, and autonomic manner are crucial to commercially viable and successful networks and services.

Authors are invited to submit papers on the following topics, including related fields:

Network Management and Operational Experience

- Internet of things
- Sensor networks
- Smart grids
- SCADA networks
- P2P and overlay networks
- Information Centric Networks
- Big data
- Future Internet
- Virtualized environments

Management Functions

- Detection of attacks
- Protection of infrastructures and services
- Security monitoring
- Configuration management
- Accounting of systems, services and behaviors
- Service provisioning
- Resilience of management infrastructures and services
- Privacy of collected data
- Quality of service and experience

Techniques and Methodologies

- Autonomous management
- Distributed monitoring and correlation
- Knowledge plane design and deployment
- Adaptability and self-organization
- P2P-based management
- Modeling of management technologies and procedures
- Machine learning
- Decision algorithms
- Flow-based management
- Scalability of management infrastructures

Conference Paper Submission:

Only original, full papers that have not been published or submitted for publication elsewhere can be submitted. Each submission will be limited to 12 pages in the LNCS paper format. Papers exceeding 12 pages, multiple submissions, and self-plagiarized papers will be rejected without further review. Paper submission is handled by the JEMS system, accessible from the AIMS 2013 Web page.

PhD Student Workshop Submission:

The PhD student workshop is open to both PhD and prospective PhD students. Authors are invited to submit short papers (4 pages, written in English and in PDF format) describing the current state of their research. The paper should include a clear description of the research problem and the chosen approach, argue why the problem is hard and the approach novel, and it should outline the results achieved to date. Specific, low-level technical details should be avoided. Papers should have no more than two authors – the student and the advisor. Accepted submissions will be published in the AIMS 2013 proceedings.


The conference proceedings will be published in Springer's Lecture Notes of Computer Science (LNCS) series and will include the conference papers as well as the PhD student workshop papers.

Important Dates:

 - February 10, 2013: Paper registration and submission deadline
 - March 19, 2013: Notification of acceptance
 - April 9, 2013: Camera-ready papers due
 - June 25-28, 2013: AIMS 2013 conference and summer school


General Chair
 - Joan Serrat, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain

Technical Program Co-chairs
 - Guillaume Doyen, Troyes University of Technology, France
 - Martin Waldburger, University of Zürich, Switzerland

PhD Student Workshop Co-chairs
 - Pavel Čeleda, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
 - Anna Sperotto, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Labs Co-chairs
 - Juan-Luis Gorricho, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
 - Thomas Schaaf, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Germany

Publications Chair
 - Burkhard Stiller, University of Zürich, Switzerland

Steering Committee
 - Olivier Festor, INRIA Nancy - Grand Est, France
 - David Hausheer, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany
 - Aiko Pras, University of Twente, The Netherlands
 - Ramin Sadre, University of Twente, The Netherlands
 - Burkhard Stiller, University of Zürich, Switzerland

Technical Program Committee
 - Rémi Badonnel, ESIAL-Université Henri Poincaré Nancy 1, France
 - Raouf Boutaba, University of Waterloo, Canada
 - Marinos Charalambides, University College London, UK
 - Isabelle Chrisment, LORIA University of Nancy, France
 - Alexander Clemm, Cisco Systems, USA
 - Alva Couch, Tufts University, USA
 - Hermann De Meer, University of Passau, Germany
 - Filip De Turck, Ghent University IBBT, Belgium
 - Gabi Dreo Rodosek, University of Federal Armed Forces Munich, Germany
 - Jérôme François, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
 - Alex Galis, University College London, UK
 - Anandha Gopalan, Imperial College London, UK
 - Lisandro Z. Granville, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
 - David Hausheer, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany
 - Georgios Karagiannis, University of Twente, The Netherlands
 - Alexander Keller, IBM Global Technology Services, USA
 - Jan Kořenek, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
 - Hanan Lutifiyya, University of Western Ontario, Canada
 - Aiko Pras, University of Twente, The Netherlands
 - Bruno Quoitin, University of Mons, Belgium
 - Danny Raz, Technion, Israel
 - Ramin Sadre, University of Twente, The Netherlands
 - Jürgen Schönwälder, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany
 - Michelle Sibilla, Université de Toulouse, France
 - Radu State, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
 - Burkhard Stiller, University of Zürich, Switzerland
 - Robert Szabo, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary
 - Kurt Tutschku, University of Vienna, Austria
 - Tim Wauters, IBBT, Belgium

PhD Student Workshop Committee
 - Desislava Dimitrova, University of Bern, Switzerland
 - Martin Drašar, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
 - Alessandro Finamore, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
 - Josef Kaderka, University of Defence, Czech Republic
 - Abdelkader Lahmadi, LORIA-Nancy University-INPL, France
 - Philip Leroux, Ghent University, Belgium
 - Luciano Paschoal Gaspary, UFRGS, Brazil
 - Eleni Patouni, University of Athens, Greece
 - Helmut Reiser, Leibniz-Supercomputing Centre, Germany
 - Thomas Schaaf, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Germany
 - Vasilios Siris, FORTH / Univ. of Crete, Greece
 - Hans van den Berg, TNO, The Netherlands
 - Martin Žádník, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic